Découvrez les finalistes des compétitions CSAW !

Découvrez les finalistes des 4 compétitions CSAW'22 !

Pour plus de détails 

Applied Research

In the Applied Research Competition, student researchers are invited to compete for the CSAW Best Paper Award. Eligible submissions include papers published between September 1, 2021 and August 31, 2022, on any topic related to the application of security technology, or the implementation of security systems

  • Andreas Kogler, TU Graz, Austria

ÆPIC Leak: Architecturally Leaking Uninitialized Data from the Microarchitecture

  • Johannes Wikner, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Retbleed: Arbitrary Speculative Code Execution with Return Instructions

  • Antoon Purnal, KU Leuven, Belgium

Double Trouble: Combined Heterogeneous Attacks on Non-Inclusive Cache Hierarchies

  • Simon Rohlmann, Ruhr Universität Bochum, Germany

Oops... Code Execution and Content Spoofing: The First Comprehensive Analysis of OpenDocument Signatures

  • Karel Kubicek, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Automating Cookie Consent and GDPR Violation Detection
  • Michele Marazzi, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

ProTRR: Principled yet Optimal In-DRAM Target Row Refresh

  • Jonas Juffinger, TU Graz, Austria

Half-Double: Hammering From the Next Row Over Half-Double: Hammering From the Next Row Over

  • Moritz Schloegel, Ruhr Universität Bochum, Germany

Loki: Hardening Code Obfuscation Against Automated Attacks

  • Adina Nedelcu, Université Rennes 1, France
How to (legally) keep secrets from mobile operators
  • Thom Wiggers, Radboud University (Nijmegen), Netherlands

More Efficient post-quantum KEMTLS with pre-distributed public keys

Capture The Flag

Students tackle problems in a series of real-world scenarios modeling various computer security problems.
To succeed, teams must demonstrate a profound understanding of the roles and ramifications of cyber security in these situations. Because the challenges are designed to teach, CTF requires contestants to integrate concepts, develop skills, and learn to hack as they go.
  • A.B.H., University of Padua, Ca’ foscari university of Venice, University of Parma, Italy
Francesco Felet, Vincenzo Bonforte, Hernest Serani Manuel Romei
  • BRUNNERNE, University of Southern Denmark 
Alexander Nissen, Victor Røer, Mads Nielsen Jonas Jakobsen
  • CheriPI, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Euan Ong, Fredrik Ekholm, Peter Yang, Nils André
  • FuzzyDragons, University of Ljubljana, University of Maribor Slovenia, Technical university Graz, Austria
Aleksander Mundjar, Aljaz Skof, Maximillian Seidler Markus Schiffermüller
  • Kr[HACK]en, Grenoble INP - Esisar, UGA, France
Célian Glenaz, Julien Cheynet, Téo Arce-menso, Léo Peder
  • m0unt41n, ETH Zürich, EPFL, Hochschule Luzern, Switzerland
Aaron Hodel, Philippe Dourassov, Marc Bollhalder Samuel Bétrisey, Vedad Hadzic
  • polyflag, EPFL, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Luca Di Bartolomeo, Andris Suter-Dörig, Sina Schaeffler, Louis Bettens
  • PwnProphecy, KIT Karlsruhe, Germany
Benedikt Leuze
  • Radboud Institute of Pwning, Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands
Ischa Stork, Mark Fijneman, Ward Theunisse, Jonathan Jagt
  • STT, Instituto Superior Tecnico, Portugal
Bruno Mendes, Rafael Rodrigues, Nuno Sabino Afonso dos Santos
  • TOWEROFHANOI, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Marco Meinardi, Gabriele Digregorio, Daniele Mammone Davide Luca Merli
  • TRX, Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy
Andrea De Murtas, Francesco Mercatili, Christian Cotignola, Cristian Assaiante
  • vubar, VU Amsterdam, Netherlands
Nikolaos Chalkiadakis, Aidan Stephenson, Felix Goosens, Thijs Raymakers
  • WreckTheLine, West University of Timisoara, Romania Delft university of Technology, Netherlands University of Oxford, UK, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Fineas Florin Silaghi, Querijn Voet, Alan Chang, Dragos Albastroiu
  • Zer0Tolerance, University of Piraeus, Greece
Nikolaos Mourousias, Nils Langius, Panagiotis Lappas, Michail Tsapralis

Embedded Security Challenge 

ESC is an educational, research-oriented tournament aimed at hacking into the hardware of embedded systems. First run in 2008, it is the oldest hardware security competition in the world. 2022 represents ESC’s 15 year anniversary. This year’s ESC focuses on machine learning-based attacks in both edge and cloud computing. Machine learning cloud services are used by millions of users every day, and special care needs to be taken to ensure trained models are protected from malicious users. This year, teams will investigate a range of attacks (such as model leakage) on the machine learning models hosted on a cloud server using a remote Raspberry Pi virtual device.
  • pwnthem0le
Matteo Protopapa (Politecnico di Torino) Italy
Luca Mannini (Politecnico di Torino) Italy
Michele Panariello (Eurecom) France
Xiaozhen Zhu (Politecnico di Torino) Italy

Faculty Advisor: Cataldo Basile (Politecnico di Torino)
  • UCST
Konstantinos Spyridon Mokos (University of Piraeus) Greece
Filippos Fotopoulos (University of Piraeus) Greece
Ilias Fiotakis (Democritus University of Thrace) Greece
Iasonas Konstantinos Manthos (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam) Netherlands

Faculty Advisor: Athanasios Papadimitriou (University of Piraeus)
  • Poulpy’s Team
Marceau Larguet (UGA - Grenoble INP - Esisar) France
Joe Abi Khalil (UGA - Grenoble INP - Esisar) France
Maryam Esmaeilian (UGA - Grenoble INP - Esisar) France

Faculty Advisor: Mickaël Seignobos (University of Grenoble Alpes - Grenoble INP - Esisar) France

Red Team Competition

The Red Team Competition is developed for high school students, with the aim of encouraging young people to choose cybersecurity careers. This competition is open to all high school students in metropolitan France, whether they are beginners or have some experience with cybersecurity issues. This year, the Red Team competition is co-created by Grenoble INP - Esisar, UGA in partnership with Root-Me, a platform for learning computer security and hacking. Teams of 1 to 3 students from the same school are invited to participate in online qualification challenges
  • Tourist, Lycée Charlemagne, 2gt6, Paris
  • LAMHack, Lycée Champollion, Terminale, Grenoble

  • Ret2kawai, Lycée Don Bosco, Terminale, Marseille

  • St-Barth’s goin’2 Valence, Lycée Saint-Barthélémy, Première, Nice

  • The IND Wankil Studio, Institution Notre Dame, Terminale, Valence

  • INDragibus, Institution Notre Dame, Terminale, Valence

  • ret C 2 lhu, Lycée Jean Macé, Première, Rennes

  • SNOWDEN, Lycée Algoud-Laffemas, Terminale, Valence

  • Hunter : The Matrix, Lycée des Trois Sources, Première, Bourg-Lès-Valence